Herodotus Program

A program of intensive courses in French as a Foreign Language (Français Langue Étrangère) for refugee or asylum-seeking artists who have undertaken or completed higher education in the arts in their country of origin.

 

The Herodotus program, which does not lead to a diploma, welcomes artists for one academic year. They follow FLE courses, according to their level of French, beginner or correct level, at the rate of three sessions of 1h30 per week. The training is a way for these artists to find an artistic environment, to have access to all courses as free listeners. They are accompanied in their discovery by voluntary student tutors.

 

The Herodotus program is conducted by the Studies Department of Beaux-Arts de Paris, under the responsibility of Sophie Marino.

 

For the year 2018-2019, following the auditions of June 26, 2018, 12 candidates have joined the program for one year. All applications were suggested by the association l'Atelier des Artistes en Exil.

 

Teachers :

Jacques Jeudy
Véronique Teyssandier

 

One participant, of Yemeni nationality, joined the School following the entrance exam for the year 2019-2020.

 

This year was an opportunity to communicate more about the program and to join the MENS network « Migrants dans l’enseignement supérieur » (Migrants in Higher Education), which brings together all the initiatives to help refugees and asylum seekers to resume their studies.

 

The program was invited to be presented as an example at the meeting of International Non-Governmental Organizations at the Council of Europe on April 9, 2019.

 

A new recruitment took place on September 25, for the year 2019-2020. The partner structures that recommend applications are the Cité internationale des arts and the UNIR association, which accompanies refugees and asylum seekers in their academic integration.

Programme Hérodote

Un programme de cours intensifs de français langue étrangère (FLE) pour artistes réfugiés ou demandeurs d’asile ayant entrepris ou achevé une formation supérieure en art dans leur pays d’origine.

 

Le programme Hérodote, non diplômant, accueille des artistes pendant une année scolaire. Ils suivent des cours de FLE, en fonction de leur niveau de français, niveau débutant ou niveau correct, à raison de trois séances de 1h30 par semaine. La formation est un moyen pour ces artistes de retrouver un environnement artistique, d’avoir accès à l’ensemble des cours en tant qu’auditeurs libres. Ils sont accompagnés dans leur découverte par des étudiants tuteurs volontaires.

 

Le programme Hérodote est conduit par le département des études des Beaux-Arts de Paris, sous la responsabilité de Sophie Marino

 

Pour l’année 2018-2019, à la suite des auditions du 26 juin 2018, 12 candidats ont rejoint le programme pour une année. Toutes les candidatures ont été proposées par l’association l’Atelier des Artistes en Exil.

 

Enseignants

Jacques Jeudy
Véronique Teyssandier

 

Une participante, de nationalité yéménite, a intégré le cursus de l’École à la suite du concours d’entrée pour l’année 2019-2020.

Cette année a été l’occasion de communiquer davantage sur le programme et de rejoindre le réseau MENS « Migrants dans l’enseignement supérieur », qui rassemble l’ensemble des initiatives d’aide à la reprise des études pour réfugiés et demandeurs d’asile.

Le programme a été invité à être présenté comme exemple à la réunion des Organisations internationales non gouvernementales au Conseil de l’Europe le 9 avril 2019.

 

Un nouveau recrutement a eu lieu le 25 septembre, pour l’année 2019-2020. Les structures partenaires ayant proposé des candidatures sont la Cité internationale des arts et l’association UNIR, qui accompagne réfugiés et demandeurs d’asile dans l’insertion académique.